12 Questions: Meet Raoul Camion (Belgium)

In our 12 Questions blog series, we feature interviews with someone from the crowdSPRING community. For these interviews, we pick people who add value to our community – in the blog, in the forums, in the projects. Plainly – activities that make crowdSPRING a better community. Be professional, treat others with respect, help us build something very special, and we’ll take notice.

We’re very proud to feature Raoul Camion (crowdSPRING username: Raoul_Camion) today. Raoul lives and works in Vielsalm, Belgium.

1. Please tell us about yourself.

I’m Raoul Camion (of course, it’s not my real name), I’m 40 years old and I live in Vielsalm, a (very) small city in the Belgium Ardennes with my wife Cindy, my little son of 9 years old, Toto, my two cats (one is a complete psychopath, he’s the Charles Manson of the cats) and all the other people who are living in the Ardennes too.

I started to work 20 years ago as an imagesetter operator (Linotronic). I then carried out several trades in the « traditional » photoengraving ( scanner  operator, phototypesetter, …) before working as a freelance graphic designer.

I thus learned the trade “on the heap” without having particular formation.

Je m’appelle Raoul Camion (Bien sûr ce n’est pas mon vrai nom), j’ai 40 ans et je vis à Vielsalm, une (très) petite ville des Ardennes Belges avec ma femme Cindy, mon petit garçon de 9 ans, Toto, mes deux chats (dont un est psychopathe, c’est le Charles Manson des chats) et tous les autres gens qui vivent en Ardennes aussi.

J’ai commencé à travailler il y a près de 20 ans de cela en tant qu’opérateur sur insoleuse numérique (Linotronic). J’ai ensuite effectué plusieurs métiers dans la photogravure “traditionnelle” (scanériste, photo-composeur, metteur au net,…) avant d’opter pour un statut de graphiste freelance.

J’ai donc appris le métier “sur le tas” sans avoir de formation particulière.

2. What is the design industry like in the Belgium?

Design industry in Belgium is mainly based in Brussels (the capital) and also in the North, the Dutch-speaking part of the country, far away from where I live.

L’industrie du design en Belgique est majoritairement basée à Bruxelles (la capitale) ainsi qu’au Nord dans la partie Néerlandophone du pays, assez loin d’où je vis donc.

3. Which of your designs are your favorites and why?

I like the logos that are not too serious. I like also the logos with 3D which keep them aspect of depth even when they are reduced to only one color.

J’aime les logos qui ne sont pas trop « sérieux ». J’aime aussi les logos réalisés en 3D qui gardent cet aspect de mise  en perspective même lorsqu’il sont réduit à une seule couleur.

4. Who/what are some of the biggest influences on your design work?

Pfiou …

Rick Griffin, Neville Brody, David Carson, Gilbert and George, Joshua Davis, John Maeda, 123Klan, Designers Republic, Eboy, David Lanham, ….

One of my favorite image remains the cover «Unknown pleasures» from Joy Division. Designer Peter Saville is is often credited to have created it, but, in the fact, it’s the drummer,
Stephen Morris who suggested to use this image (It’s a representation of the first discovered pulsar wave).

I really like the cold, mathematic aspect of this picture.

Pfiou …

Rick Griffin, Neville Brody, David Carson, Gilbert and George, Joshua Davis, John Maeda, 123Klan, Designers Republic, Eboy, David Lanham, ….

Une de mes image préférée reste la pochette d’Unknown pleasures de Joy Division. Le designer Peter Saville est souvent crédité pour avoir réalisé cette pochette mais, dans les fait, c’est le batteur Stephen Morris qui a suggéré d’utiliser cette image (qui est en fait un représentation de l’onde émise par le premier pulsar découvert).

J’aime beaucoup l’aspect froid, mathématique de cette image.

5. How do you come up with ideas for concepts after you read a buyer’s creative brief?

Ideally, that has to go very quickly, by association of ideas. Also, I have always a synonyms dictionary  by the hand to find an unexpected angle for a specific term.

I also like to work with combinations of simple and, yes, expected symbols to create something new, even if that reduces the field of possibilities

Idéalement, cela doit aller très vite, par association d’idée, j’ai aussi toujours sous la main un dictionnaire de synonymes.

J’aime bien de travailler par assemblage de symboles simples, même si cela réduit le champs des possibles.

6. Mac or PC?

Mac, of courses, but I don’t want to  create polemics with that (and anyone knows that PC users have a smaller dick)

Mac bien sûr, mais je ne veux pas polémiquer la dessus (et  tout le monde sait que les utilisateurs PC ont des plus petites bites).

7. What is your dream design project?

I like to work on series, like icon or pictogram collections, with a specified format, a reduced color scheme and restrictives guidelines.

The main work is than to define a process, strict rules that we tent to applie on the whole serie.

After, I wrack my brains to put all elements into those pre established canvas, it’s like resolve word-crossing or sudoku.

It’s more a methodologie work than a creative one but I find satisfaction in that.

J’aime bien travailler sur des séries, comme des collections d’icônes ou de pictogrammes, avec un  format donné, une gamme de couleurs réduites, des guidelines assez restrictives.

Le travail principale est alors de définir un processus, des règles strictes que l’on va appliquer à l’ensemble de la série,.

Après, c’est un peu comme de faire un mot-croisé ou de résoudre un sudoku, on doit se casser la tête pour faire rentrer les éléments dans ces canvas pré-établis.

C’est alors plus un travail de méthodologie qu’un travail vraiment créatif mais j’y trouve mon compte.

8. What are your favorite websites for inspiration or learning about
graphic design?

Honestly, I don’t surf very much on graphic websites and I haven’t really favorite ones.

Honnêtement, je surfe très peu sur les site de graphisme. et je n’ai pas vraiment de site favoris.

9. Please describe your typical work day.

When I’m (really) courageous, I wake up at 06h30 and I do an half hour of sport, I press fresh orange juice, I set the table for breakfast and then I start to work, serene, motivated and trusting.

The rest of the time (about 28 days/month), I wake up too late, I drink to much coffee and then I groan because of coffee makes me too nervous and I cant’ concentrate myself  anymore, and I finish the day with the half off the things that I previously scheduled.

Quand je suis (vraiment) courageux, je me lève à 06h30 et je fais une demi-heure de gym, je presse des orange, je dresse la table du déjeuner puis je me mets au travail, serein, motivé et confiant.

Le reste du temps (genre 28 jours par mois), je me lève en retard, je bois trop de cafés et puis je râle parce que ça m’a rendu trop nerveux et que je n’arrive plus à me concentrer, et je termine la journée en ayant pas faits la moitié des choses que je voulais faire.

10. What are the most challenging and rewarding aspects of being a
graphic designer?

Having the feeling of being paid to have fun and especially, working from my home without the stress of big cities and exacting working days.

Avoir l’impression d’être payé pour s’amuser et puis, surtout, travailler de chez soi sans subir le stress des grande ville et des journée de travaille harassantes.

11. If you weren’t designing, what would you be doing?

I would run a toy store, I would learn tap dance and I would disguise as Venom to  give free hugs at a beer feast (but I will wear a pink mantle for a better conviviality).

J’aurais un magasin de jouet, j’apprendrais à faire des claquettes et je me déguiserai en Venom pour faire des free-hugs à la fête de la bière (mais je mettrai aussi une cape rose pour que cela soit plus convivial).

12. What do you do with your free time?

I take coffee with the olds of my village, I’m cooking also from time to time (not every day, please, stop dreaming), when it’s a sunny day, I walk to school to get back my son.

We do also hiking every week in family.

In summer, we go often to the beach to do kite (all my apologizes to the girl I trampled last time).

In the french-speaking belgium, we have a very cool public utilitie called «Discobus», it’s like an itinerant «library» bus for the music and movies. So I listen many many music and I’m also a fan of US and UK TV show like «Six feet under», «Entourage», «Rome», «30th Rock», «The Office», «Arrested Development», …)

Je bois le café avec les vieux du village, je cuisine aussi de temps en temps (pas tous les jours, ne rêvez pas); quand il fait beau, je vais rechercher mon petit garçon à pied à l’école pour faire une ballade.

On fait aussi beaucoup de randonnées en famille.

En été,  on part souvent faire du cerf-volant à la mer (toutes mes excuses à la fille que j’ai piétinée la dernière fois).

En Belgique francophone, nous avons un service public très chouette appelé le « Discobus », c’est un peu comme un bus- bibliothèque itinérant pour la musique et le cinéma. Donc, j’écoute beaucoup, beaucoup de musique et je suis aussi un fan de  séries télé anglaise et américaine. (Six feet under, Entourage, Rome, 30 Rock, The Office, Arrested Development, …)


Merci beaucoup, Raoul!